Pastel Painters Society of Cape Cod

FPO 2019 Awards

Best of Show: Laurinda O'Connor

Award of Excellence: Michele Poirier Mozzone

Award of Honor: Susan Ellis

Awards Presentation with Nancie Mertz and Dave Kaphammer

24th Annual National Juried Exhibition

"For Pastels Only on Cape Cod, 2020"

June 20 to July 12, 2020


Note New Deadline for Submission: May 17, 2020. 


As much as we all look forward to the For Pastels Only (FPO) exhibit and reception each year, we want all of you to remain healthy and safe, so, we have decided that this year's FPO showwill be Online Only. We are also extending the deadline for entry to give everyone more time to create new work to submit. The new deadline for submission is May 17, midnight.

The updated prospectus is available now thru ShowSubmit.

PPSCC will be donating 25% of the sale price of all sold works from the FPO Online Show to a charity associated with the virus response, to be named later.

We will still feature the artwork of 100 of the most talented artists in the country, selected by Juror of Selection Jeri Greenberg. Tara Will, as Juror of Awards, is still expecting to present over $6000 in cash and prizes to the best of the best works!  We will still have these 100 most amazing pastel works of art featured online for all to see!

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact FPO Co-chairs, Janet Schwartz and Tami Amoroso, at Nationally Recognized Jurors

Judge of selection Jeri Greenberg at her easelThis year's Jurors are Jeri Greenberg as Juror of Selection, and Tara Will, Juror of Awards.  Jeri has achieved IAPS Master Circles status, is a Signature Member of the Pastel Society of America, Pastel Painters Society of Cape Cod among many other art societies. You can learn more about her and see her work at  

Right: Jeri Greenberg 


Tara has also achieved IAPS Master Circle status, is a Signature Member of the Maryland Pastel Society as well as many other organizations. More on Tara at her website:

Left: Tara Will



Deadline for Submission: May 17, 2020. 

Member and non-member pastel artists are invited to submit their artwork for consideration. Requirements and submission information can be found in the Prospectus.  You can enter through Show Submit.

Dates to Remember:
Submission deadline:  MAY 17
Acceptance notification:  JUNE 1

Online awards presentation on June 20th.

(Also planing an online demo; stay tuned.)


Master Workshops:  

NOTE: Our Master Workshops are still open for registration. If Covid-19 is still active in Massachusetts in June at a level where gatherings of 20 people are considered unsafe, we will cancel or reschedule the workshop and you will have the choice to get a full refund or reschedule.

Our Master Workshop coincides with FPO.  This year our instructor is Tara Will, IAPS MC:

“Learning to See in Color: An Observational Approach”

Two 2-day workshops:

June 16-17, 2020 (Tues-Wed) and June 18-19, 2020 (Thurs-Fri) 9 am - 4 pm

Cultural Center for Cape Cod, South Yarmouth, MA 

Online registration for this class will begin on March 1st for PPSCC members, and March 15th for non-members.

More details to come soon.

FPO Co-Chairs: Janet Schwartz and Tami Amoroso
FPO Publicity Chair: Paula David
FPO Awards Chairs: Jeanne Tangney and Diane Reed Sawyer
President of Pastel Painters Society of Cape Cod: Dave Kaphammer

PPSCC Members Open Online Exhibition

November 9, 2019 - January 15, 2020

You can see the show here

Michele Poirier Mozzone pastel demonstration

Sundays FPO pick up went very smoothly and to top it off, Michele Mozzone did a spectacular demo for a captivated audience!  Thank you Michele!  What a great way to end a very strong FPO show!  And thanks to Eileen Casey, Ann Vosikas, Maxene Raymond,  Dave Kaphammer and Suzanne Nelson!

"For Pastels Only on Cape Cod, 2019"

Our annual national exhibition will take place July 17 to August 11 this year.  This event draws collectors and visitors to the Cultural Center of Cape Cod in South Yarmouth for the Opening Reception and throughout the 3 week exhibition.  

This year's Jurors are Deborah Quinn-Munson as Juror of Selection, and Nancie King Mertz, Juror of Awards.

The Opening Reception and Awards Presentation wil take place on Saturday, July 20, 2019 from 6:00 - 9:00pm.

FPO Co-Chairs: Susan Ellis and Janet Schwartz

Note:  our July Master Class with Nancie King Mertz will take place during this year's FPO.  More information at Master Classes.


For Pastels Only 2019 Awards List

Best In Show: Laurinda O’Connor, “Signs of Spring” 
Award of Excellence: Michele Poirier Mozzone, “Opus”
Award of Honor: Susan Ellis, “Clam Digger”
Great American Art Works Award: Linda Armstrong, “Spectators”
Royal Talens Award: Kurt Weiser, “Portrait of ACER”
Barbara Stone Memorial Award: Susan Kerrigan, “Sea Cottage”
Providence Art Club Award: Diana De Santis, “Maria”
Ampersand Art Supply Award: Sheryll Reichelt, “Morning Mist”
Liz Haywood-Sullivan Award: Diane Reed Sawyer, “Mystic Meets Malden”
Terry Ludwig Pastels Award: Jeri Greenberg, “Blue Is The Colour of My Dreams”
Airfloat Award: Christine Ivers, ”From The Terrace”
Piedmont Pastel Society Award: Cindy Crimmin, “Quitting Time”
Connecticut Pastel Society Award: Eugene Shcherba, “Mommy’s Dress”
Dakota Art Pastels Award for Emerging Artist: Christine Bodnar, “A River Runs”
Joan A. Ledwith Memorial Award for Landscape: Betsy Payne Cook, “A Fragile Life”
Jack Richeson & Company Award: Janet Schwartz, “Light at the End of the Tunnel”
Pastel Society of North Carolina Award: Ted Fuka, “Backlit”
Pastel Society of America Award: Lois Castellana, “Sea of Blue”
Vermont Pastel Society Award: Dave Kaphammer, “Rust In Peace”
Pastel Society of Maine Award: Jeanne Tangney, “Shades of Green”
Pastel Society of New Hampshire Award:  Johanne McGinnis, “Tidal Trace 4”
Pastel Society of New Jersey: David Francis, “Truck’s Top”
Central Massachusetts Pastel Society: William Schneider, “On The Barbary Coast”
Chicago Pastel Painters: Terri Brooks, “Chuck”
Rosalie Nadeau Award for Plein Air Painting with Vibrant Color: Diana Rodgers, “View Through Outer Islands”
Pan Pastel Award: Barbara Archer-Baldwin, “The Demo: Just Started”
Blick Art Materials: Mike Kolasinski, “Upon Further Reflection”
Jack Richeson & Company Award: Denise Vitollo, “Coexistence” 
Diane Townsend and Pastel Journal Award: Jory Mason, “Brushes in Pastel”
UART and Pastel Journal Award: Paula David, “Bliss”

To see the full set of images from 2018 click here.